Why I Was Born?

“I’d like you to ask them about something that really worries me. Do I need a purpose in life? That’s what all the books say, but I guess I don’t have one. Is there something wrong with me? And how do I get a purpose if I need one?

Studies over the past decade have shown that most people feel disconnected from their future selves. Indeed, it takes work to imagine oneself a decade or two from now – let alone a half century or more. And that, according to the researchers, is a problem. Experiments have shown that when people are made to think in detail about their future selves, they are more likely to make better financial planning decisions, show altruistic behavior, and make more ethical choices. Researchers have gone so far as to invent software that “morphs” the reflection of a young subject to age 70 or 80. The effects on seeing yourself on the screen as an old person helps people to make better decisions.”- Karl Pillemer, Ph.D.

Karl Pillemer, Ph.D., PsychologyToday, April, 2016

RAUL VILLAMARIN RODRIGUEZ

IMG_3680new 2

Co-Founder/ Co- CEO

IRIANS- The Neuroscience Institute

Leave a Reply

